Don't move to Florida.

And if you can leave, get out.

While there's still time and people dumb enough to buy your place. This doesn't get better.

The "insurance reforms" are all in favor of the insurance companies and to the significant disadvantage of the insured. You may think you have insurance. You may have the receipts for all the premiums you paid. Good luck collecting on your claim. The board is tilted in favor of the insurance companies.

Almost because it has to be. Or there would be no insurance here. And therefore, no mortgages. And therefore, no housing market.

For now, I'm pretty confident USAA will be good to us. But I don't know for how long. There's a lot of activity duty and retired military in Florida. I don't know how much of USAA's portfolio is located here.

If I could, I'd leave.

And this was all entirely foreseeable. The article doesn't maintain that it wasn't, but it's the excuse I can already hear from the Republican Party of Florida, which has owned and operated the state for more than a generation.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 12:27 Monday, 11 March 2024