Time flies when you're debugging. Or something.

Anywho...

Ventless (heat pump) dryer arrives today. I've pulled the old one away from the wall and unplugged it, per directions from Home Depot. They're supposed to arrive between 0730 (a half hour ago) and 1100. My guess is closer to lunch. We'll see.

Took another look at the Midwatch thing while my brain was still "fresh." It's "working," but it seems to work too much. I needed to put a conditional in front of the runCommand action, and I probably constructed that incorrectly, omitting parens around the test, if ($Text==""), which should say, "If the $Text attribute is empty is true," then it goes on to runCommand. If it's false, i.e. there's a summary already in there, it should just exit.

I corrected it in the note that was giving me problems (it kept adding the summaries), when I should have corrected it in the prototype. Fixed that, then it still kept happening. Went back and looked at yesterday's Midwatch, and the Edict in that entry had been edited in my earlier efforts and it was still wrong, so it ran and the little Automator app that runCommand runs always looks for the latest Midwatch entry and adds the summary, so I figured that's where the additional entries were coming from. Fixed that.

Went back a few days and verified all the other Midwatch entries had inherited the corrected code from the prototype Edict, and they had. So far, it's been behaving itself.

But I'm almost afraid to look at it again.

Yesterday it was raining, and by the time it stopped I was waiting for some guys to come by to install new hydraulic cylinders in the Murphy bed Mitzi had installed. They were supposed to be here by 1100 too, but got hung up and didn't show until 1430. So I didn't walk yesterday, though by mid-afternoon it was a beautiful day. So no excuse, I guess.

It's beautiful out there today too. But I know if I go I'll get to the midpoint of my walk where it'll take me 30 minutes to get back and they'll show up. Hopefully they'll be here before lunch and I'll just take a late walk.

In the meantime, I guess I should post this and then go look and see if Midwatch is behaving itself.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:57 Friday, 29 March 2024