The marmot created April 2024 correctly, and everything was set up for this morning, except the container was set for $HTMLDontExport (checked), which I have to uncheck. I'll look into correcting that. Otherwise, the export file was named properly, and the export folder was correctly set. Yay me!

Likewise, Captain's Log functioned properly. A new April 2024 container was created, the April 1 log page was created, and the Midwatch entry was made with the calendar summary in the $Text.

It's not a "glitch," but there is some odd behavior with the AppleScript. When I first log into the iMac, there's always an alert showing, "The action "Run AppleScript" encountered an error: "Can't get attribute "Text" of missing value."

The day's page is "closed," that is, the disclosure triangle points to the right. Clicking that reveals the Midwach entry, and the $Text is empty. A second or two later, it's populated with the calendar summary. And this is with the AppleScript that does not use the clipboard.

So it seems like there may be something in the way the object hierarchy is available to AppleScript (Or Automator, as it's part of an Automator application) in terms of being able to act on a particular attribute. It may be that the object must be visible (i.e. "disclosed."), not just exist. I saw the same thing when the AppleScript relied on the clipboard. If Midwatch wasn't visible in the outline, it wouldn't paste the summary. Once it was visible, it went on happily pasting the calendar summary every time the Edict ran. (That part is fixed, and I no long rely on the clipboard anyway.)

It's a cosmetic thing mostly, though I suppose if I didn't attend to a given day for more than a day, then I'm not sure if the script would fail entirely, or if it would skip the day that had never been disclosed.

I'll play with my test folder and make sure I can reproduce it and then pass it along to the developer.

Anyway, I'm still very happy with how things are working at the moment.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:42 Monday, 1 April 2024