Closeup of a swallow tail kite in flight with wings spread illuminated from beneath.

The only problem with having a nice camera that can take a lot of pictures is that you wind up creating a lot of work for yourself. On yesterday's walk, and Friday's too, the kites were playing above the preserve on the early part of my walk. In drive mode, I wound up taking hundreds of shots, which I had to go through and see if any were worth editing and sharing.

And I'm probably not the best judge of that.

But since these are still unusual for me, I still find them exciting. I suspect there are at least two nesting pairs nearby, because I've seen at least three wheeling around in the sky, seemingly chasing each other. It looks like they're playing, but I haven't looked into their behavior at all.

This one is illuminated from below because the sun was still very low on the horizon.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:35 Monday, 1 April 2024