Jack posted a rather visceral take on a blog post title, which had the presumably desired effect of making me click through. I read the entire post (that used to be "RTWT" or, "read the whole thing" back in the day). I also get it, but agree that the title was more click-bait than topic or non-sequitur. (Because the way I've set up the marmot, titles aren't required but they make things a little easier. Often, the title is a seeming non-sequitur because it's all I could come up with, but it often influences how the post evolves. That's kind of interesting.)

Anyway, I don't share Keenan's particular malady. I have no problem clicking "mark all as read" in NetNewsWire when I've gotten a bit behind. My greater challenge is the number of posts I've starred, intending to respond to them or otherwise do something. But it doesn't instill any particular angst. I'm old enough now to laugh at myself at all the foolish but harmless things I do.

But it's interesting, also, that in this morning's feed there's a post from from Matt Webb about how various social media prompts are interpreted by people who may not be exactly in center of the Bell curve in interpreting a prompt. It's resonant, to some degree, with Keenan's experience with RSS.

As Jack observes in another post, people are different and generalizations can make someone look foolish.

FWIW, I stopped reading Gruber some time ago. His writing feels calcified, stale. He's approaching "grumpy old man" without the charm of being, you know, old. I think that's the problem with writing mostly about one topic and being so strongly identified with it, namely Apple. I know he's done some stuff with sports and maybe movies? Anyway, I don't miss him.

But that's the beauty of the blogosphere. There are many voices. Always something new to discover. Keenan was new to me this morning.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:27 Saturday, 20 April 2024