I'm glad I came up to see Mom, but it's also a bit sad. Every time I see her, she seems to have shrunken a bit more. I suppose it's the Parkinson's. It has gotten a bit worse, but she's still on her feet and living independently. I don't think that will be the case for much longer.

She's very stoic, and never complains, so when she says she "thinks" she's going to need some more help, I wonder and worry about what she's been struggling with recently. My brother does most of the day to day monitoring and assistance. He's got his own recently discovered medical issues to deal with, so I'm not inclined to discuss this with him just yet. We'll know more about his situation in a couple of weeks.

My sister is a nurse, and she checks in on Mom often, but lives farther away. I'll be calling her in a few minutes to get her take and begin considering next steps.

I love my Mom, and this is life.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:48 Saturday, 20 April 2024