Closeup of a sunflower

While much of yesterday felt like wading through molasses, we did manage to make it to the garden to check on the plants. Probably 10 tomatoes coming in, a few beans starting and the peas are still struggling.

Because I was running at about half speed, I didn't bring a camera with me, but I did have the phone. These weren't our sunflowers, but I enjoyed looking at them.

Slept fairly well last night, but I'm still feeling pretty far from "refreshed."

We started watching some Japanese series on Prime last night, I can't recall the name just now, but it's about a U.S. nuclear sub crewed by the Japanese Maritime Self Defense Force. At first I was put off by the way they depicted the Americans, then I recalled reading in the credits it was based on a manga series and then it made sense. They're remaining pretty faithful to the manga style(?) (tropes?). Not that I'm intimately familiar with manga, but I have seen some. We watched two episodes and felt, meh. But it did put me in the mood to watch a movie about submarines with subtitles.

So we (started) watching Das Boot (The Director's Cut). "Started," because it's more than three hours long, if I recall how much time we had remaining when I stopped it.

It seems hard to believe that movie is over 40 years old now. We are farther from when that movie was made than the movie was from the events it depicted when it was made.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 05:53 Monday, 29 April 2024