It's interesting how the modern home begins to resemble something as complex as a ship. In our case, perhaps more so because of the solar array and batteries. But also the water softener, hot water heater, the heat pump/HVAC system, the air cleaner, sensors for CO2, PM2.5, humidity. There's the automation system, the network connection, the in-home wireless network, the golf cart is like the captain's gig, chargers for the golf cart and the RAV4 Prime.

It all requires maintenance, and documentation. As I'm discovering. It's warming up and the AC is running more frequently. I deferred replacing the air filter last month because it was hardly running at all. I went ahead and put a new one in this morning and discovered that the semi-annual maintenance guy, who was otherwise simply outstanding, forgot to secure the cover, so air was blowing by every time it ran! Fortunately, it wasn't running much. Not like it will be shortly.

Anyway, I feel like I'm the EOOW, engineering officer of the watch here is USS SAUL (DWPV-849). Except the duty rotation is port and re-port, 24/7. The qualification system is OJT, and there's no one here to sign my qual card.

It's not for me, but I sense a "training and education" entrepreneurial opportunity here for some enterprising ex-sailor.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:59 Sunday, 28 April 2024