I watched the "Glow" thing, and I don't know what the "glow" was about. I'm tired of the prerecorded videos. Tired of the repetitive, hyperbolic, self-praising rhetoric. It sounds like a Trump rally, minus the crazy.

I fell asleep during it a couple of times. I'm in the market for a new phone, I'm still on a 13. I don't know if there are any "pro" features that might make me consider getting one of those. I'll probably just get a "regular," "amateur" iPhone 16 with the A18.

I'm not enthusiastic about iPhones anymore. I'm kind of dependent on Apple Maps in CarPlay. I'm embedded in their content ecosystem. I'll get a 16, but I won't be waxing rhapsodic about how great it is.

It's a double-edged sword sort, or an avoidance-avoidance conflict. I don't want to learn a new platform, I don't want to give up all the stuff I already know how to do, but then Apple keeps changing the damn things, just for the sake of change, making it harder to use, and destroying the single greatest value proposition in the platform.

It's like I'm being held hostage and tortured and tormented.

It's a frickin' nightmare.

I hate it.

Maybe that's the role of "Apple Intelligence." To abstract the UI away from the user. Just tell it what you want, and let it figure out how to do it. "Siri, remove this AppleTV from my Florida home."

"Siri, add this TV to my New York home."

"Siri, fix my email so it looks like a damn email client instead of whatever hot mess this is."

"Siri, this stupid camera doesn't permit dashes in passwords, go change all my passwords so I can use this stupid camera."

"Siri, figure out why Photos thinks I have a different number of photos in my library on every device that has Photos."

"Siri, why can't you identify a power line in a photo and automatically delete it. It's a straight frickin' line! And why do you keep changing "frickin'" to "friction"?!

This modern life. It's a trap.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:31 Wednesday, 11 September 2024