Screenshot of a bike workout from the iPhone Fitness App

Well, ynto yt anyway.

I enjoy riding my bike, but not always. There are two times when I will forego riding. One is when it's hot and muggy, the other when it is windy. (Or wyndy?)

Wind is perhaps worse than heat. The heat thing is mostly that I'm soaking wet whenever I get where I'm going. Wind is just discouraging. You're pedaling hard and going nowhere. Well, almost nowhere. I don't know what the thermodynamic efficiency comparison is between riding into the wind and walking, but, subjectively, walking is less unpleasant.

Today is "windy." I don't know what the threshold for me is, but it's definitely below the 12mph we're seeing right now. I would normally not ride my bike today, so it was a good day to test out this conversion.

I have a Priority Classic, 3-speed, very upright riding posture. It's not "built for speed," and neither am I. Looking over the Fitness app, I didn't ride at all in July. Unsurprising, we were gone for much of the month and it's one of the hottest in Florida. My average figures for June were 5.8 miles at 11.7 mph, for 29m 43s expending 213 calories.

My best "workout" rides were between 28m 30s and 29m 31s, 6.03 miles and my best speed was 12.7 mph. Average HR was in the 140s, and calories expended were >290 calories.

The test ride this afternoon was not a workout ride. So I was faster, and expended fewer calories. Despite not being intended to be a workout ride, I nevertheless still had a workout. 136 bpm average HR is right up there with my "Nordic walking" workouts with the polls (though they expend far more calories). And I'm feeling it in my legs. So I was making an effort of some kind, mostly to see how fast I could go.

I don't recall what level of assistance I was in, I think it was 3 (out of 5). I'm still unfamiliar with the control and the display. The speed tops out at 25kph, or 15.5 mph. That's the limit in Britain, faster than that and it's no longer a "bike" and you need a license and registration. We don't have that limit here, and I think there's a setting in the controller where I can bump that up a bit. I'd be happy with 20mph, because that'd let me keep up with the golf carts, mostly. Except for the ones that have been modified for "street use." (I think they go up to 35mph, and good luck to you if you have an accident.)

But I could definitely feel the assistance, particularly in starting out. Normally I have to start out in first gear, but the motor kicks in really quickly and I'm able to start out in 3rd gear as easily as I could in first. The sensation of speed was less pronounced. My maximum recorded in the Fitness app was 16.9mph with the wind. And when I started getting up there around 25kph, you could feel the motor cut out. Much of the trip was into the wind, so the feeling of speed wasn't really present, but I could hear the wind roaring in my helmet (probably 25mph relative wind). My helmet is more of a skateboard helmet than a bike helmet. I look stupid in either kind, and don't normally wear one at all. I think there'd be less wind noise with a bike helmet because it doesn't cover your ears.

The big takeaway for me was that today was not a day I'd normally choose to ride, but now I know I can.

Overall, I'm largely satisfied with the device. It leaves a lot to be desired from an appearance standpoint, and the company's support in terms of assembly is unacceptable. But if you can overcome that, you do have a bike that will expand your capabilities in terms of biking significantly.

It's a tough call in terms of the value proposition. To receive the wrong wheel, have to struggle through inadequate and misleading documentation, and be left with something that looks kind of jury-rigged, I certainly wouldn't spend more than $509. If the documentation had been first-rate, I'd say it was a reasonable price, and I'd have had a less frustrating experience.

I'd like to say everyone should go out and get one, but I can't. If you really want to convert an existing bike, this does have everything you need to do so. Be prepared to "figure it out" on your own, though. I don't know if there are better kits on the market, with clearer instructions. Swytch came with good reviews, but I'm disappointed with the company, and the experience up to the point of getting it on the road has been unpleasant.

Riding has been another story. Time will tell if this has been a good purchase.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 14:40 Monday, 16 September 2024