The coolest morning here in a very long time - 70°F! And little to no wind.

I found the settings screen for the controller and set everything to English units, just because. Found the speed adjustment and the max is 30kph (even with "miles" set, the settings use kilometers), or 18.6mph. So I set it for 30kph, found my lights and got on the road at 0520.

I forgot to start the Fitness app in the driveway, remembered a little more than a quarter mile away, so I only recorded 5.84 miles. Well, average speed was 14.7mph, max was 17.3. I had to maneuver around some construction and deal with getting out of the back gate, but if you leave all that out, the ride was mostly around 17-18mph.

With the gearing on my little three speed, 18mph is me pedaling about as fast as my stubby legs can go, and it is essentially effortless. That was on level 3 assistance. Maybe I could get to 18.6 if I went to level 4 or 5. The point is, I never got going fast enough for the motor to cut out, which is a better experience, I think.

So I'll have to extend my ride to get more of a workout on non-windy days. Average HR was only 112bpm, and I only expended 160 calories.

It is kind of fun though. I did have the feeling of "speed" this morning. I suppose I'll get used to it eventually, but I did feel like I was going very fast. I see kids on ebikes around here, and I think they're mostly on American bikes with more powerful motors and throttles, because they're usually zipping along and not even peddling!

Still have to figure out the cable management, and I don't know if I should take this thing to the store and park it. The battery is only held on with velcro straps. There's a locking kit, but it added quite a bit to the price. It'd probably be ok. We'll see.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:11 Tuesday, 17 September 2024