Just because I feel like crap and I can't think of a more productive way to spend my time, I thought I'd share another "surprise and delight" moment with MacOS this morning.

I noticed that iStat Menus claimed I had "four days remaining." I only bought iStat Menus back in June. Apparently a new version 7.x has been released since then. Well, I didn't want to fork over another $15 so soon. I went to the web site but didn't find anything about "upgrade" pricing, or "If you bought it in the last x-number of days, it's free."

Disappointing, but I guess the guy has to make a living. No problem. Delete version 7 and reinstall version 6. There was even a helpful download link.

Downloaded v6, went to the Downloads folder and planned to just drag it over into the Applications folder in the sidebar.

Wait... Where's the sidebar?

I've noticed this before. From time to time, after restarts, (Hell, maybe all the time for all I know.) Finder opens its windows without the sidebar. What's up with that?

No problem, I thought. Just go up to View and select Show Sidebar. Except... It's grayed out!

What the actual fuck? Tried to open a new window. Same thing. Went to Force Quit and re-launched Finder. Same thing.

Check Finder preferences. Check System Settings (as if anyone could actually find anything useful in there). No joy.

At some point, something happened and Show Sidebar was restored to the menu. I don't know what it was, whether I did it, or Finder just decided it was done fucking with me for today ("Don't anthropomorphize computers, they hate that.")

I've got a screenshot with it grayed out, but I'm too lazy to drag it into Photos to run the automation that posts images here.

I should make a list; but then, why should I have to?

"It just works."

Not anymore.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 18:55 Monday, 23 September 2024