Had my second course of Paxlovid this morning. Slept ok last night. (I seldom sleep "well.") No fever or chills, no muscle aches apart from the usual ones. Less of a runny nose, but still, well, runny.

The worst part is my right front tooth. The left one had a root canal in 1977 when a guy who was in a pep rally skit with me kinda failed to pull his punch and hit me in the mouth, breaking the tooth. Instead of evening meal that night, I had a root canal. ("Let's see if the nerve's exposed...")

Awesome.

The right one's been fine since forever, except a corner chipped off some years ago and efforts to bond a little replacement failed successively and progressively made it worse. So I finally went ahead and just had a crown put on it. Tooth was healthy, so no root canal. Except, it's always been a little sensitive after that.

For some reason, Covid ("Not COVID, Dude. Covid is the preferred nomenclature.") has dialed that sensitivity up to 11. Last night I was trying to figure out how to see the dentist while having COVID. I was asking Mitzi to run to the store for the stuff you rub on your gums to numb teeth.

I woke up this morning, and the tooth seemed to feel fine. Drank some water with the Paxlovid and learned it definitely was not. But it's either getting better, or I'm getting more accustomed to the pain. It isn't causing tears anymore, anyway. I'm hoping that as my immune system and the antiviral get a handle on this thing, it'll go back to being just a little sensitive. (I could still eat an ice cream bar, and have the BMI to prove it.)

Anyway, the beat goes on...

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:50 Wednesday, 25 September 2024