Blog memes! I remember...

Anyway, memes can mutate, so here's my "default" app list. Stuff I use all the time, at least once a week.

  • Mail Service: iCloud
  • Mail Client: Apple Mail
  • Spam Filter: SpamSieve
  • Notes: Apple Notes (shared with Mitzi, and stuff that doesn't go in Tinderbox)
  • To-Do: n/a (I don't do anything.)
  • Calendar: Apple Calendar (formerly iCal?)
  • Contacts: Apple Contacts
  • RSS Service: n/a
  • RSS Client: NetNewsWire
  • Launcher: LaunchBar
  • Cloud Storage: iCloud
  • Photo Library: iCloud
  • Web Browser: Safari
  • Chat: Messages
  • Bookmarks: Safari
  • Read Later: Instapaper
  • Word Processing: Pages (mostly to print a daily photo card to my mom)
  • Spreadsheet: Numbers (not weekly, but at least monthly and whenever I have to)
  • Presentations: n/a
  • Shopping Lists: Apple Note (shared with Mitzi)
  • Personal Finance: n/a
  • Music: Apple Music
  • Podcasts: Apple Podcasts
  • Password Management: Keychain Access
  • Social Media: Mona (Mastodon)
  • Weather: Apple and Ambient
  • Search: DuckDuckGo
  • Code Editor: n/a
  • Blogging: Tinderbox
  • FTP: Forklift
  • Photo Intake: Image Capture
  • Photo Review: RAW Power
  • Image Sharpening: Topaz SharpenAI
  • Video Calling: FaceTime
  • PDF Viewer: Preview
  • Automation: AppleScript, Shortcuts, Automator, Hazel,
  • POSSE: Micro.blog
  • Retro Computing: Virtual II
  • Backup: Time Machine, Backblaze
  • Local File Management: Finder

There are a bunch of apps I use less often, like Topaz Gigapixel AI. Settings is always open in the dock. Activity Monitor too. Dictionary (to look up big words).

If I look at CPU usage and sort by CPU Time, Mail is the number 1 app, followed closely by SpamSieve. Finder is 3rd, then Activity Monitor, Tinderbox, LaunchBar, Notes, Backblaze, ForkLift, RAW Power, the photolibraryd process, Hmm... PopClip is in there too. And i use UnClutter as a clipboard manager and temp text stowage. Speaking of which, it's been acting weird under Sonoma. Stuff I expect to be on my clipboard isn't, so I have to be a little cautious. Could try using LaunchBar instead, but then I'd have to learn something.

Anyway, I use a lot of apps it seems.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:25 Wednesday, 8 November 2023