I enjoyed the season finale of The Morning Show last night. I think they let Jon Hamm off a little too easy, but it was ok. I remain sympathetically inclined toward Cory, who at least exhibits some signs of self-awareness.

There was a pretty overt pitch for legacy media in the Howard Beale moment. I'm sympathetic, but I think that ship has sailed and legacy media was never as virtuous as Chip tried to make it out to be.

I wasn't sure I was going to like TMS when it debuted. At first, I thought it was going to be a workplace comedy, like The Office. But it has consistently been a pretty straightforward, topical drama. And what better way to make a drama topical than to center it on the news business?

I'm looking forward to another season. Just wish I didn't have to wait a year.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 10:22 Thursday, 9 November 2023