I'm not much of an Apple (the corporation) fan these days, but if Apple is such a monopoly, why is Safari, the default browser on the "monopoly" platform, unsupported on so many official web pages?

The Social Security Administration, DFAS, I'm sure there are others, all report that Safari is "unsupported." I refuse to install Google Chrome (and someone should investigate what Google does with our data in its data centers), so I have Firefox for those sites.

This morning, I was reading a news piece in NetNewsWire that has an embedded map created by, of course, Google, and there was a red banner across it that I was using an unsupported browser. (NNW was using Webkit, which is the foundation of Safari.)

Is Safari somehow deficient? I thought all browsers were now "standards compliant." Why is the default browser on a supposed "monopoly" platform "unsupported"?

Is this 1999?

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 05:59 Friday, 22 March 2024