Affinity has been acquired by Canva.

That means they will eventually become a subscription model. Which the FAQ essentially states by not stating that at all. Subscription isn't horrible, but it does suck. And it's going to become "cloud based," which feels like Adobe's "creative cloud" bullshit. And, inevitably, it is going to be changed by its corporate masters in ways that it wouldn't have if it had remained independent.

I never used their desktop publishing or vector drawing apps, though I owned them, so maybe it's not such a huge deal for me. I can use Acorn or Photomator. There are other choices.

But I liked Affinity because it seemed like they were a small shop doing great products instead of a corporate greed-machine. I guess everyone wants their payday.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:06 Tuesday, 26 March 2024