I'm not a physical therapist, but I slept at a Holiday Inn Express once and watched some YouTube videos.

Heh.

So, trying to understand more about what was going on during my walks, I watched more YouTube videos. Of course there are different ways to use trekking poles, and "Nordic walking" is definitely a more specific kind of technique than just "pole walking."

Since I'm relatively healthy, no joint pain or other mobility issues, and looking to get more aerobic benefit from my walking, the Nordic walking technique is appropriate. Decent video here.

I was trying to bring the poles too far forward, to land approximately where my opposite foot was landing. It's supposed to land mid-stride, or behind where the opposite foot lands. That keeps both poles angled backward, they never get vertical.

It's still not clear to me how the tip of the pole gets off the ground when you're supposedly releasing your grip toward the end of the stride and beginning to swing your arm forward. This also means the arms are more straight and less bent than I was doing.

I may dial it back tomorrow and just try to get the form down.

Imagine the fun I'm going to have after watching a few videos on kayaking!

I've got a brain surgery playlist queued up too. Stay tuned!

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 12:08 Monday, 29 July 2024